Six new members appointed to the Advisory Council for the Misuse of Drugs

Six new experts in topics including pharmacology, pharmacy, and health economics have been recruited to help deliver the Advisory Council for the Misuse of Drugs’ (ACMD) ongoing work.

The ACMD is an independent body which makes recommendations to government on the control of dangerous or otherwise harmful drugs, including classification and scheduling under the Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 and its regulations.

The new appointees announced are:

  • Mohammed Fessal, chief pharmacist for Change, Grow, Live, and a pharmacist special advisor at the Care Quality Commission
  • Professor Graeme Henderson, professor of pharmacology at the University of Bristol and trustee of the Bristol Drugs Project
  • Professor Roger Knaggs, associate professor in Clinical Pharmacy practice at the University of Nottingham
  • Dr Carole Hunter, lead pharmacist at the Alcohol and Drug Recovery Services at NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde
  • Professor Matthew Sutton, professor of Health Economics at the University of Manchester.
  • Professor David Taylor, director of pharmacy and pathology at the Maudsley Hospital, and professor of psychopharmacology at Kings College London.

The Chair of the Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs, Dr Owen Bowden-Jones, said:

“I am delighted to welcome the new members to the ACMD. Their depth of expertise will ensure the Council provides the best advice on the harms of drug misuse and I look forward to working with each of them.”